Facebook announces “2011 Hacker Cup” – worldwide programming competition



Facebook 2011 Hacker Cup - Programming CompetionFacebook has started the annual facebook programming competition – Facebook 2011 Hacker Cup. This is going to be the first version of the cup which will held in early 2011. According to Facebook, this program will bring together the best engineers around the world and compete the competition.

Obviously being a competition, it will have formats and the winner. The competition is multi-round programming competition. Hackers all around the world can register for the Facebook 2011 Hacker Cup online from December 20, 2010.  The contestants have to solve the algorithmic-based problems to qualify further. After 3 rounds of competition, only selected 25 hackers from the world will be traveling for the finals.

The final print of the competition available in Announcing the Facebook 2011 Hacker Cup reads :

The Fine Print
The competition commences with a 72-hour Qualification Round on January 7, 2011 at 0:00 UTC (4:00 PM PST) to January 10, 2011 at 0:00 UTC (4:00 PM PST). All registered competitors will be presented with three problems. Only competitors who correctly solve at least 1 problem will advance to Online Round 1.

Online Round 1 consists of 3 sub-rounds, each lasting 3 hours in length that are offered at different times from January 15, 2011 at 15:00 UTC (7:00 AM PST) to January 16, 2011 at 0:00 UTC (January 15, 2011 – 4:00 PM PST). Competitors who advance to this round can participate in any of the three sub-rounds until they qualify for Online Round 2. The top-scoring 1,000 competitors from each of the three sub-rounds will advance to Online Round 2.

Online Round 2 begins January 22, 2011 at 15:00 UTC (7:00 AM PST) and will end on January 22, 2011 at 18:00 UTC (10:00 AM PT). The 3,000 competitors will have three hours to solve the presented problem sets. The top-scoring 300 participants from Online Round 2 will receive an official Hacker Cup t-shirt. The top-scoring 25 competitors from Online Round 2 will be notified via email that they have advanced to the final round at Facebook.

Facebook will fly the top-scoring 25 competitors to Palo Alto, California, for the final round of competition on March 11, 2011, where they’ll receive some great cash prizes and other awesome goodies. Out of these 25 finalists, one champion will emerge and be immortalized on the Hacker Cup trophy.

Keep an eye on the Hacker Cup page at www.facebook.com/hackercup for more announcements as the January 7th qualification round approaches.

May the best hacker win!

Tim, an engineer at Facebook is writing the a monster of a problem statement for the finals.

The winner will get a sum amount of $5,000, 2nd Place gets $2,000, $1,000 for 3rd and $100 for other remaining top 25 contestants. Facebook will pay the expenses for the contestants traveling for the finals.
And top 300 hackers from 2nd round will get t-shirts.